Australia’s #1 Natural Health Site
e.g. yoga, naturopath
e.g. Glebe, 2010
You are here: Natural Therapy Pages > Therapies > Yoga > Ashtanga Yoga

Yoga - Ashtanga


Ashtanga yoga is a vigorous form of yoga that utilises both the breath and a series of poses to improve the body and the mind. The aerobic workout removes impurities from the system and strengthens the circulatory system.

What Ashtanga Means

Yoga - Ashtanga The word “Ashtanga” means eight limbs and refers to the eight limbs of classical yoga. The eight limbs are “Yama” (moral codes), “Niyama” (self-purification and study), “Asana” (posture), “Pranayama” (breath control), “Pratyahara” (sense control), “Dharana” (concentration), “Dhyana” (meditation), and “Samadhi” (contemplation). However, Ashtanga is primarily concerned with the third limb, “Asana”.


The Asanas are a set of poses that the student performs. Often, these are called Sun Salutations and the movements are well-defined. The series of movements is vigorous and as such, the yoga class is very aerobic. Asanas are designed to create heat within the body in order to create a purifying sweat. This sweat then removes impurities from muscles and organs, creating a healing atmosphere within the body.

As some Asanas can be very advanced, it is important that the student works their way up from a beginner level so as to avoid injury. The yoga teacher will always work within your abilities.

Vinyasa, Tristhana and Dristhi

“Vinyasa” is the breathing and movement system and for each movement there is one breath. Each Asana has a specific number of Vinyasa. For example, a posture or asana requiring nine movements would require nine breaths. The Vinyasa promotes internal cleansing.

Within Ashtanga, the length of the inhaling breath should be the same as the length of the exhaling breath. By synchronizing the breathing and movement in the poses, the blood is heated, thereby cleaning and thinning it, allowing it to flow better throughout the body. The improved circulation then removes toxins and disease and relieves pain in the joints. The sweat then carries the impurities from the body.

The “Tristhana” is the union of the posture, breathing system and looking place. These cover the body, nervous system and the mind and they are always performed together.

The “Dristhi” is the point that a person focuses on when practicing their Asanas. There are nine points – the nose, between the eyebrows, the navel, the thumbs, the hands, the feet, up (the direction) and the right and left sides of the body. The Dristhi or looking place helps to stabilize the mind.

The Bandha

The word “Bandha” means to lock or seal and is a vital part of the breathing technique. It unlocks the pranic energy and directs through the energy channels of the body. The “Mula Bandha” is the anal lock and the “Uddiyana Bandha” is the lower abdominal lock. These Bandhas seal in energy and strengthen the body. The “Jalandhara Bandha” is the throat lock and it stops energy from escaping the body via the head as well as preventing pressure build up in the head when the breath is held.

It is vital that the Bandhas are controlled fully otherwise breathing will be incorrect and there will be no benefit from the poses.


  Printer Friendly Version

Related Articles
Does yoga really help you sleep?

Sometimes a little stretching is all you need to unwind and prepare for sleep.

Would You Try Goat Yoga?

We’ve reported on some pretty weird and wacky yoga trends in the past. And now, we bring you…goat yoga

The benefits of yoga

Yoga is an ancient form of practice based on a harmonising system that focuses on strength, flexibility and breathing to boost physical and mental wellbeing.

How Yoga Helps Depression

Clinical depression, anxiety, panic attacks…they can affect anyone at any time

Yoga asanas for morning sickness

Experiencing morning sickness? You might like to take a yoga class or two.

How Yoga Helps Men With Prostate Cancer

A new study has found that yoga may reduce the side effects of prostate cancer treatments


More in Yoga